Stitch Fix #2

In case you have been living under a rock, Stitch Fix is a personal styling service for women sizes 0-14. You fill out a detailed style profile (with the option of linking to your Pinterest board – highly recommended), they send five items, you try them on, decide what to keep and what to send back within 3 days – along with detailed feedback so your next box is better. If you keep everything, you get a 25% discount. If you keep nothing, you’re out $20. For each friend who tries the service via your personal referral link, you get a $25 credit. Here’s mine (hint, hint):
Kimberly’s Referral Link Voila!

Now, this service ain’t cheap. Items cost, on average, $55 each. But for someone like me who lives in the boonies, doesn’t spend money on gym memberships, spa treatments or regular haircuts, it’s my “me” money and I don’t feel (too) guilty about splurging a few times a year.

My first fix was great and I kept everything. I’ve worn three of the items more times than I can count. The other two are a bit more dressy than a life of PBJ making and toilet scrubbing generally call for, but I have worn them each a couple of times to great effect. I didn’t blog about my first fix because I was busy making PBJs and scrubbing toilets. Ha!

So. The second box. I’m still deciding. I want to love everything in it, but I’m just not sure. SF conveniently figured out how to send me a box that, after referral credit, will cost me the exact same amount I spent out of pocket last time if I buy every piece. I don’t think that was an accident… If I keep only the pieces I really like, it will cost just about the same as if I bought the whole thing. Quite a conundrum. (First world problems much?)

Here’s what I received.
1. Gorjana Juliette Bird Charm Necklace – $38

IMG_6884.JPG

I like birds and have quite a few bird-themed items on my linked Pinterest board. It’s gold – the tone I usually wear. But…it’s wee. It’s easily destroyed by my toddler delicate. For me, it’s expensive. Hmmm.

2. Daniel Rainn Tara Abstract Print Roll Tab Blouse – $68

IMG_6877.JPG

I want to like this top. One of my favorite bloggers, Jill Krause at BabyRabies got this exact same top in her recent fix. (See it here: Jill at BabyRabies rocking this top!). But…how to say? Jill is taller and thinner than me and I don’t think this top’s horizontal lines are doing me any favors. For $68, I want to look more like Jill and less like Jill’s dumpy cousin.

3. 41Hawthorn Abrianna Lightweight Knit Cardigan – $48

IMG_6871.JPG

I like the idea of this cardi. I like the drape and the fit. It’s lightweight. It’s soft. It’s a great color on me. But…it’s flamingo pink. Summer pink. Early spring pink. It doesn’t say “fall” and certainly not “winter” to me. Hmmm.

4. Le Sample Kahlo Embroidered Solid Tank – $38.

IMG_6863.JPG

This fabric is great and the detail is really eye-catching. I like hi-lo tops because they hide all of my lows. It’s a racer back which I don’t usually wear, but trying new things is the point.

5. Level 99 Patrick Chino Pant – $108

IMG_6881.JPG

I thought I would hate these pants. I’ve been stuck in bootcut land and only recently vacationed in boyfriend jeans island, so I was interested to see how this cut would work on me. When I saw the size they sent, I really didn’t think they would fit. And true, someone needs to be doing some serious squats before daring to wear these without a hi-lo top, BUT the fabric is amazing, I love the color, and the fit (after a week or two of squats) will be pretty good.

So, what should I keep? And don’t worry about the money – we live in Texas and have an oil well in the back yard just like the neighbors.

What do you think?